John Newbery Medal: Winners, Nomination Process, History

The Association for Library Service to Children (ALSC), a branch of the American Library Association (ALA), bestows the John Newbery Medal, sometimes known as the Newbery, to the author of “the most remarkable contributions to American literature for children.” The Caldecott Medal and the Newbery Medal are regarded as the two highest honours in American children’s literature.

How John Newbery Medal was Started - History

At the American Library Association’s annual session on June 22, 1921, the Newbery Medal was created (ALA). Children’s librarians in attendance enthusiastically endorsed the concept, which was put out by Publishers Weekly editor Frederic G. Melcher, and the ALA Executive Board later accepted it. 

Read: List of 10 successful Self-Published Authors who chose Self Publishing

The ALA was responsible for managing the award from the beginning, although Melcher contributed money to cover the cost of the medal’s creation and design. 

Taking into account works released in 1921, the Newbery Medal was established in 1922. Melcher and the ALA Board decided to create the prize, according to The Newbery and Caldecott Awards, for a number of reasons that involved children’s librarians. They sought to support the publication of excellent, imaginative children’s books and to show the general public that children’s books merit appreciation.

How to get nominated for Newbery Medal

Members of the committee are chosen to represent a range of libraries, educators, and book reviewers. They read the books independently before meeting twice a year to have private talks. Any book that meets the requirements is eligible; it need not have received a nomination. 

The Newbery Award is given to the “author of the most distinguished contribution to American children’s literature published in the United States in English during the preceding year” by an American publisher. The American Library Association’s Midwinter Meeting, which takes place in January or February, is where the Newbery Award winners are revealed.

Read: List of 10 most popular classic children’s story book of all time

A subset of the runners-up on the final ballot, either the top runners-up on that ballot or the top runners-up on a separate ballot that omits the winner, must comprise the Honor Books. Winners are contacted via phone just before the award is announced, and the committee votes in secret. K. T. Horning of the Cooperative Children’s Book Center at the University of Wisconsin-Madison suggested to ALSC in 2015 that previous deliberations of the Newbery and Caldecott awards be made public in order to aid historians and academics. Both past committee members and renowned authors supported and criticised this proposition.

John Newbery Award Winners 2022

In 2022, Donna Barba Higuera was awarded John Newbery Award for her book The Last Cuentista. An American author of children’s books is Donna Barba Higuera. Lupe Wong Won’t Dance, her first book, was a PNBA and Pura Belpré Award finalist in 2021. The Last Cuentista is a dystopian tale for middle grade readers.

The Newbery Honor was established as the first ever children’s book award. Its guidelines and lengthy history continue to make it the most prestigious and widely talked-about children’s book prize in this nation.

John Newberry Award Winner 2022 - Donna Barba Higuera

Read: List of Most Prestigious Literary Awards in 2022

BlueRose Publishers, too, have an award called BlueRose Awards for the authors who publish with us. Regardless of their genre, language, or geographic location, the prize aspires to recognise significant literary luminaries in the world of literature. The goal of the BlueRose Book Awards is to honour authors who have consistently worked to improve society. 

The goal of BlueRoseONE is to bring together under one roof the many true stories of well-known and up-and-coming authors. This area will provide readers and writers with a platform to explain and investigate the various shades of an author’s journey.

Previous Post
Next Post

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *