Hugo Award: Winners 2022, Nomination Process, History

Awarded during the World Science Fiction Convention and selected by its attendees, the Hugo Award is a yearly literary honour presented to the greatest science fiction or fantasy writing from the previous year. The Hugo is frequently cited as the top honour in science fiction. The World Science Fiction Society is in charge of administering the prize. 

Read: List of 10 Most popular movies based on books.

It bears Hugo Gernsback’s name, who founded the groundbreaking science fiction publication Amazing Stories. Hugo awards have been granted annually since 1955, beginning with the 11th World Science Fiction Convention in 1953.

How Hugo Awards were started - History

At the 11th Worldcon in Philadelphia in 1953, the inaugural Hugo Awards were given out in seven different categories. Although the organisers intended that succeeding conferences would also offer them, the honours given that year were initially planned as a one-time event. At the time, Worldcons had no inter-year supervision and were entirely managed by their various committees as autonomous events. As a result, there were no requirements for repeating the prizes at any future conventions and no guidelines for doing so.

The Best Series category, which was added as a new permanent category in 2018, had previously been a special Hugo Award before being approved at the annual business meeting. The Best Art Book Special Hugo Award was presented in 2019, however it was neither continued or added as a permanent category. A unique Hugo award for video games was presented at the 2021 Hugo Awards. A suggestion for a “Best Game or Interactive Experience” category is being considered by the Hugo Study Committee in preparation for a possible submission to the 2022 convention.

Nomination Process for Hugo Awards

Everyone who attended the most recent Worldcon or the one before is eligible to submit a nomination for a Hugo Award. This implies that the “jury” is typically made up of a large number of persons. Even if you could, you shouldn’t send your work to every single one of them. The Hugo Award has no nomination process.

Read: Learn how to publish a book and become a bestselling author

There is no entry or submission cost. The Hugo voters are skilled at identifying and nominating wonderful works, and they do communicate among themselves, which helps the word get out. Additionally, there are independent websites where anyone can suggest candidates for Hugo Awards.

Hugo Award Winners 2022

The 80th WorldCon, this year known as ChiCon, in Chicago, Illinois, hosted a ceremony on September 4th to reveal the 2022 Hugo Award winners. Authors Charlie Jane Anders and Annalee Newitz served as the event’s hosts.

There were following winners in these categories: BEST NOVEL- A Desolation Called Peace by Arkady Martine (Tor Books), BEST NOVELLA- A Psalm for the Wild-Built by Becky Chambers (Tordotcom Publishing), BEST SERIES- Wayward Children by Seanan McGuire (Tordotcom Publishing), BEST GRAPHIC STORY OR COMIC- Far Sector by N.K. Jemisin, art by Jamal Campbell (DC Comics), LODESTAR AWARD FOR BEST YOUNG ADULT BOOK- The Last Graduate by Naomi Novik.

hugo award winners

Hugo Award Winners 2022

Read: List of most prestigious literary awards in 2022.

The Hugo Awards, the highest honour in science fiction, were originally given out in 1953 and have been given out annually since 1955. The members of the World Science Fiction Convention, also known as WorldCon, choose the winners, who are either individuals or works from the previous year.

BlueRose Publishers have an award called BlueRose Awards for the authors who publish with us. Regardless of their genre, language, or geographic location, the prize aspires to recognise significant literary luminaries in the world of literature. The goal of the BlueRose Book Awards is to honour authors who have consistently worked to improve society. 

The goal of BlueRoseONE is to bring together under one roof the many true stories of well-known and up-and-coming authors. This area will provide readers and writers with a platform to explain and investigate the various shades of an author’s journey.

Previous Post
Next Post

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *